What Sweets and Chocolate Are Vegan?
So many of us enjoy the sweet treats and chocolates during the winter holidays or on Valentine's Day. In fact, this is a time of year when chocolate and sweets rule! So we all start thinking about gifts for family members, spouses, partners, friends, coworkers, neighbors, and even the mailman! And you don’t even have to worry even if the person who will receive the gift is vegan. That’s because there are countless delicious, chocolatey, sugary treats that are totally free of animal products. It’s also easy to find vegan sweet boxes and vegan chocolates.
Finding vegan and cruelty-free sugary gifts is easy if you know where to look. Unfortunately, not all of us have the luxury of time to scour the internet for best places to buy the best vegan sweets. So hopefully this short guide can help you with your search for vegan approved chocolate and sweets gifts.
Sweets for Vegans
A vegan is a person who adheres to the veganism lifestyle. Vegans don’t eat foods that come from animals or contain any animal products like meat, poultry and dairy. They also don’t use products containing ingredients that have been tested on animals. Vegans are a growing population as the health benefits of a plant-based diet are understood more and more by society.
But you’d be surprised to know that there are vegans that have a sweet-tooth or enjoy the occasional sweets and candies. Fortunately, there are many treats and candies that are made just for vegans. This vegan sweet gift box that includes vegan candies and sweet treats use plant based sweeteners and don’t contain any ingredients that come from animals.
If you want to give your vegan friend some delicious vegan sweets gift, make sure to do some research first before making your purchase. Stay away from sweets that contain animal ingredients like carmine, beeswax and gelatine. It shouldn’t contain dairy or poultry products either. There are many reputable candy and sweets makers that cater to vegans so do your research and read reviews online.
Chocolates are some of the most delicious treats in the world. And they make for good gifts for any occasion because most people love chocolates. But many people are still confused if chocolates are vegan or not.
Chocolate can be vegan because it is inherently a plant-based product. It is made from cacao beans which come from cacao trees. However, these are not the only ingredients used in making chocolates. Animal products like dairy and animal fat are often added to chocolates. So when buying chocolates for a vegan, make sure they don’t contain any animal products like the ones we mentioned. Additionally, it’s always a good idea to buy high quality chocolates because they contain pure chocolate, cocoa butter and the occasional plant-based sweetener and preservatives. Sure, you’ll be spending more than usual but you’ll have peace of mind knowing that you’re buying something vegan-friendly especially if it says so on the packaging.
Next Up: What Is a Good Gift for a Vegan?